Double Dragon

double-dragon

Not quite like that.

This is a double celebration as I have had stories accepted to two anthologies with Dragon Soul Press. It’s a publisher I haven’t worked with before, and the stories are longer than I usually commit to, but I’m glad I made the effort to write something longer.

Nansi Promo

The Fairytale Dragons anthology (expected November 2020) features fairy tales re-imagined to feature a dragon. I chose the story of Anansi and the Sky-God, which tells the tale of how all of the stories became Anansi stories. This was filtered through a SF lens to become, I hope, something different but faithful to the heart of the folk tale. Anansi is a trickster who uses his intelligence to get out of the scrapes he gets himself into. In my re-imagining, Nansi and the Dragon, Nansi approaches her problems with a similar intelligence.

ADP2 Promo

The All Dark Places 2 anthology (expected October 2020) is horror. I was exploring folk horror and the old plot hook of outsiders settling in a rural environment full of secrets. I had a cool name, which became the title of the story: Witherwood Farm; I had a cool ending in mind (which I’m not going to giveaway here); I had a cool protagonist; and the rest of the story built itself up from there.

Dragon Soul Press have a lot of great anthology calls at the moment, so if you write SF, horror or fantasy, I wholeheartedly recommend you take a look. Be sure to check their submission guidelines (good advice with any publisher).

More news on the dragons and dark places as they develop.

About skeletonbutler

A writer, musician, dreamer and time traveller.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Double Dragon

  1. andreahargrove says:

    Hi! I have a story coming out in Fairytale Dragons, too, so I decided to drop by to check out your site. (This is my first time with DSP, too.) Congrats on both of your acceptances, and good luck on future projects!

Leave a comment